Join Us!

 
Like this book? Digg it!


Book Data

ISBN: 9780963810960
Year Added to Catalog: 2010
Book Format: Paperback
Book Art: Photo insert
Dimensions: 6 x 9
Number of Pages: 300
Book Publisher: Polyface, Inc.
Release Date: September 30, 2010
Web Product ID: 549

Also By This Author


The Sheer Ecstasy of Being a Lunatic Farmer

by Joel Salatin

With a Letter from Wendell Berry

Reviews


Stumbling Homestead Podcast - February 5, 2011

Join us for a book review of Joel Salatin’s latest work: The Sheer Ecstasy of Being A Lunatic Farmer. Chapters are examined in the context of our homesteading activities.

Listen to the original review.

 


 

 

The Beginning Farmer - February 3, 2011

It's been awhile since I've taken the time to do a book report, but I've been wanting to make the time as I pick my way through Joel Salatin's latest book, "The Sheer Ecstasy of Being a Lunatic Farmer". I know that you're not supposed to judge a book by the cover (or the title in this case), but if you were going to do that I think the title alone would be enough to interest you in this book. Really ... who wouldn't want to enjoy the life of a "Lunatic Farmer"!

Read the original review.

 


Box of Chocolates - February 3, 2011

 

Joel Salatin is a quasi-famous farmer in the natural food “industry”.  This was a book about things that make his farm different from most industrial farms, and why everyone thinks he’s crazy because he’s not just about making profit at the expense of everything else.  And I totally want to steal his title when I write my parenting/homeschooling memoir, “The Sheer Ecstasy of Being a Lunatic Homeschooler”.

Read the original review.

 


The Bovine blog review - December 1, 2010

 

“…In October, I was also really lucky to get a loan of the book The Sheer Ecstasy of Being a Lunatic Farmer by Joel Salatin from a cowshare member when we were at the Contempt of Court trial against our local community dairy, which is now being run by Michael Schmidt.

What an exciting read! It is one of those rare books that I get that I actually try to read slowly. The last one I read like that was Masanobu Fukuoka’s book The One-Straw Revolution and I would say that in many ways these books are very similar. Both are written with the integrity and passion of people with their hands in the earth and who really know what they are talking about.

Both speak of the diversity and of working with the systems and natural rhythms that are already in place. Reading this book has frequently given me goose-bumps, and worth savoring, drawing out for as long as possible until you can really embody the experience. Joel Salatin writes with such a cascade of vibrant examples from nature that it is impossible to not get caught up in the excitement and to feel and see the earthworms dancing in your dreams at night. He also dares to say things that really need to be said in a way that is humorous and not too offensive. I highly recommend you read this book for yourselves, but in the meantime I am gonna post some of my favorite excerpts. I just can’t help it, very exciting stuff….”

Read the full review and excerpts on Hella D’s blog.

Read the original review at The Bovine.

 


Farm to Consumer Legal Defense Fund Review

November 9, 2010

Environmentalism is important and also controversial. We have choices. We can look for enlightenment on the subject from someone who pontificates from their power-massage recliner in their climate-controlled McMansion in the suburbs or we can look to someone whose livelihood depends on a correct understanding of the environment.

The Sheer Ecstasy of being a Lunatic Farmer is a book written by just such a man. Joel Salatin is the author. He also owns Polyface Farm which has operated for about 50 years under the principles explained by his book. I think that is about long enough to get an idea whether he is going in the right direction or not.

This book is loaded with ideas you don’t hear everyday. Bigger is not always better. Artificial insemination may not be a good idea for keeping your herd genetically robust. Is there really a food shortage? He makes an excellent argument for why we should want smart, well-paid farmers. Do we really want something as important as our food to be produced by people who are as poor as dirt and half as smart? What does it say about our culture when we pay millions to rock stars and expect the farmer to take a vow of poverty? We might want to rethink those twisted and unhealthy values. There are too many interesting and great ideas to even list in a review. You’ll just have to buy the book.

One radical idea is that farming does not have to be a blight on the land. Farming, done right, can heal the land, build soil and improve the environment. Mr. Salatin explains in some detail how to build soil much faster than one inch every 1000 years or whatever the “experts” are saying these days. A very important piece to this puzzle is the humble cow. Contrary to popular belief, cows are not an ecological disaster. Properly managed cows on grass will sequester more carbon in the soil than any other known technique. While this is a good thing, he does not say or imply that CO2 in the atmosphere should be our most feared enemy. I’m glad he doesn’t’. Without carbon dioxide, life as we know it would cease. So when environmentalists or government agencies reclassify an essential component of our atmosphere as a contaminant, how am I supposed to hang on to any respect for such an agency?

Salatin talks about environmentalist-sponsored government wetland regulations which essentially require freezing the area being regulated into a steady state where nothing is ever allowed to change. Unfortunately we live in a world where change is the norm, so stopping the change requires a lot of work on the part of humans – which means we need to burn a lot of that evil fossil fuel. While those kinds of people chase their tails, the lunatic farmer works with nature rather than trying to lock it in a cage.

There are many examples of pop environmentalism. Ironically, you will read none of this nonsense in the book by the lunatic farmer. One of the great things about being a lunatic farmer is you don’t need to let political correctness censor your thinking. We can listen to someone with a long track record of success or listen to the eco-freakos. We have choices.

This book is only funny if you have a sense of humor. For those who know Joel Salatin, you will be happy to see familiar examples. At Polyface, the chickens still express their chicken-ness, and you can see the cow-ness of the cow, the pig-ness of the pig, and the Salatin-ness of the Salatin. You will also see phrases like the “Greco-Roman western linear reductionist systematized fragmented disconnected parts-oriented individualized culture …” As fun as that is to read, it is even more fun to hear him say it in person.

Joel Salatin gives away huge secrets to big success. Isn’t he worried about helping the competition? Well, there are a few reasons why the answer is no. He knows you can never get ahead by being a copycat. Another key point in the book – people who don’t ever let their minds out of their little Greco-Roman western linear reductionist systematized fragmented disconnected parts-oriented individualized box will think he is howling at the moon.

Mr. Salatin also knows that he can’t save the world by himself. He makes a very powerful case for why we need as many smart farmers as we can get. The idea that farming is for idiots is deadly for any culture. Industrial farming is failing in multiple ways as I write this. Food production is not scalable. Big factory food is destroying valuable resources and making people sick. That obviously can’t go on much longer. Producers know that and they also know that if people in general ever taste a real chicken like you find at Polyface, the game will be over even sooner. If there aren’t more Polyfaces, everybody is going to get very hungry. If you want to be a smart farmer, reading this book would be a smart start.

Does his crazy environmentalism work? If you visit Polyface (and I have several times) you will see happy, contented animals. The people that live and work there are also look happy. There are no nasty odors even from the pigs. The grass really is greener on the Polyface side of the fence.

And then … taste the food. Oh, yes. It’s working. The thumb is way UP for this book.

Read the original review here...


Price: $25.00
Format: Paperback
Status: Available to Ship
Ships: Next day


Online for US Orders Only
International orders can be placed by phone (802-295-6300) or email

Joel Salatin's Upcoming Events

  • Joel Salatin at Richmond Center for Christian Study
    ,
    October 23, 2014, 12:00 pm
  • Joel Salatin at Connecting for Change: Bioneers by the Bay
    Bioneers by the Bay, New Bedford MA
    October 24, 2014, 12:00 pm
  • Joel Salatin at Slow Money National Gathering
    Slow Money National Gathering, Louisville KY
    November 10, 2014, 12:00 pm
  • Joel Salatin at ACRES USA Conference
    ACRES, Columbus OH
    December 4, 2014, 12:00 pm

GET YOUR NEWS FROM CHELSEA GREEN

Sign up for our e-newsletter today and get 25% off your next purchase in our bookstore. Please note that discount codes do not combine with other offers or books already on sale.