- Chelsea Green - http://www.chelseagreen.com/content -

We can pickle that!

Posted By admin On October 9, 2013 @ 6:00 am In Food & Health,Health & Wellness | Comments Disabled

As we approach National Pickle Day [1], we at Chelsea Green are here to be sure you are prepped for pickling just about anything on this very special holiday.

Pickling goes far beyond turning cucumbers into sour or sweet sides for your sandwich, or putting up your beans and beets. To show you what we mean, we’ve compiled a few unusual pickling ideas for your perusal. From plums to pee…yes, indeed, we can pickle that [2]!

You’d be missing out if you didn’t try these Cinnamon Dark Red Plums, courtesy of Preserving Food without Canning or Freezing [3] by the gardeners and farmers of Terre Vivante.

You can catch fermentation revivalist Sandor Katz, dubbed “The Prince of Pickles [4]” by Civil Eats, at the Fourth Annual Portland Fermentation Festival [5] on October 23, but in the meantime, his books Wild Fermentation and The Art of Fermentation are chock full of ideas and recipes to satisfy all your pickling needs. We’ve chosen a classic recipe for sour pickles and a not-so-classic excerpt that explains how to use your own urine to improve soil fertility—a practice used throughout the world.

Sour Pickles – From Wild Fermentation [6] by Sandor Katz

Fermenting Urine – From The Art of Fermentation [7] by Sandor Katz

 

If it’s more practical pickling you prefer, pop on over to our archive of posts on how to make Dilly Beans [8], Ginger Beer [9], Dandelion Wine [10], Yogurt or Kefir Cheese [11], Sourdough Starter [12], and Kimchi [13]. What’s your favorite way to pickle? Share your stories with us on Facebook [14] or Twitter. [15]


Article printed from Chelsea Green: http://www.chelseagreen.com/content

URL to article: http://www.chelseagreen.com/content/we-can-pickle-that/

URLs in this post:

[1] National Pickle Day: http://www.freewebs.com/pickleday/

[2] we can pickle that: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yYey8ntlK_E

[3] Preserving Food without Canning or Freezing: http://www.chelseagreen.com/bookstore/item/preserving_food_without_freezing_or_canning:paperback

[4] The Prince of Pickles: http://civileats.com/2012/06/21/the-prince-of-pickles-sandor-katz-on-the-art-of-fermentation/

[5] Fourth Annual Portland Fermentation Festival: http://portlandfermentationfestival.com/

[6] Wild Fermentation: http://www.chelseagreen.com/bookstore/item/wild_fermentation/

[7] The Art of Fermentation: http://www.chelseagreen.com/bookstore/item/the_art_of_fermentation:hardcover

[8] Dilly Beans: http://www.chelseagreen.com/content/diy-dilly-beans-voted-best-snack-ever/

[9] Ginger Beer: http://www.chelseagreen.com/content/recipe-ginger-beer/

[10] Dandelion Wine: http://www.chelseagreen.com/content/from-the-homemade-hooch-files-dandelion-wine/

[11] Yogurt or Kefir Cheese: http://www.chelseagreen.com/content/how-to-making-yogurt-or-kefir-cheese/

[12] Sourdough Starter: http://www.chelseagreen.com/content/recipe-basic-sourdough-starter/

[13] Kimchi: http://www.chelseagreen.com/content/how-to-make-3-kinds-of-kimchi/

[14] Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/chelseagreenpub

[15] Twitter.: https://twitter.com/chelseagreen

Follow us
Get every new post delivered to your inbox
Join millions of other followers
Powered By WPFruits.com