- Chelsea Green - http://www.chelseagreen.com/content -

Pre-Release Special: Save 25% on Paradise Lot

Posted By jmccharen On February 4, 2013 @ 9:00 am In Biography and Memoir,Chelsea Green News,Garden & Agriculture,Permaculture | Comments Disabled

Eric Toensmeier is well known in permaculture circles for his book Perennial Vegetables [1], and the encyclopedic, two-volume set Edible Forest Gardens [2] he coauthored with Dave Jacke. Toensmeier’s new book, Paradise Lot [3], tells the story behind the tiny, barren lot that he and his friend Jonathan Bates transformed into a lush, perennial garden.

As Toensmeier wonders in the book’s introduction, the road ahead of the two young men seemed hopeful,

“Could we bring about an edible paradise on our blighted lot? Could we regenerate soil, bring back birds, and meet all of our goals on only a tenth of an acre without cramming everything in too tight? And might we ever meet women who could appreciate guys who spent more time on the Plants for a Future online database than singles websites? Time would tell.”

Publishers Weekly [4]‘s recent review of Paradise Lot says, “In true permaculture fashion, the book follows not only the progression of the garden but also its influence on and relations with its creators’ lives—including a surprisingly Austen-like romantic element—their neighborhood, and the larger permaculture and forest gardening community…Fans of Toensmeier and Bates’s work will be thrilled to read the details of their experiments with polycultures, their problems with and solutions for pests and overly aggressive plants, and their idiosyncratic plant choices. Adventurous readers with conventional gardens and lawns may be inspired to venture into the more integrated, evolutionary approach that this book so vividly and appealingly portrays.”

Paradise Lot is on sale for 25% off this week.

For an even better glimpse of Eric Toensmeier’s perennial garden, check out our new DVD, Perennial Vegetable Gardening. Watch the trailer below:


Article printed from Chelsea Green: http://www.chelseagreen.com/content

URL to article: http://www.chelseagreen.com/content/pre-release-special-save-25-on-paradise-lot/

URLs in this post:

[1] Perennial Vegetables: http://www.chelseagreen.com/bookstore/item/perennial_vegetables/

[2] Edible Forest Gardens: http://www.chelseagreen.com/bookstore/item/edible_forest_gardens_2_volume_set/

[3] Paradise Lot: http://www.chelseagreen.com/bookstore/item/paradise_lot:paperback

[4] Publishers Weekly: http://www.publishersweekly.com/978-1-60358-399-2

Follow us
Get every new post delivered to your inbox
Join millions of other followers
Powered By WPFruits.com