- Chelsea Green - http://www.chelseagreen.com/content -

How Much Water Does Your Car Use?

Posted By dpacheco On July 27, 2009 @ 3:10 am In Nature & Environment | No Comments

Most cars burn fossil fuels and dump CO2 into the atmosphere. We all know that. But have you considered the amount of water your car uses? I don’t just mean washing (although that’s part of it)—I’m also talking about the “embedded” water, if you will, in the manufacturing process. As it happens, bicycles don’t just have a leg up on cars in the gasoline and carbon dioxide race; they’re also way ahead when it comes to water consumption.

The following is an excerpt from Water: Use Less—Save More [1] by Jon Clift [2] and Amanda Cuthbert [3]. It has been adapted for the Web.

The car

It takes about 70 gallons of water to produce l gallon of gas.

It takes about 120,000 gallons of water to produce a small car.

It takes about 35 gallons of water to produce a bicycle.

  • Wash your car at home rather than at a car wash.
  • Wash your car using a sponge and a bucket and some soap. It works just as well and uses much less water than a hose or a pressure washer.
  • Wash your car less often.

 

Related Articles:


Article printed from Chelsea Green: http://www.chelseagreen.com/content

URL to article: http://www.chelseagreen.com/content/how-much-water-does-your-car-use/

URLs in this post:

[1] Water: Use Less—Save More: http://www.chelseagreen.com/bookstore/item/water:paperback

[2] Jon Clift: http://www.chelseagreen.com/authors/jon_clift

[3] Amanda Cuthbert: http://www.chelseagreen.com/authors/amanda_cuthbert

[4] 5 Ways to Save Water While on the Can: http://www.chelseagreen.com/content/5-ways-to-save-water-while-on-the-can/

[5] Ten Facts About the Water We Waste: http://www.chelseagreen.com/content/ten-facts-about-the-water-we-waste/

[6] Nine Tips to Save Water this Summer: http://www.chelseagreen.com/content/nine-tips-to-save-water-this-summer/

Follow us
Get every new post delivered to your inbox
Join millions of other followers
Powered By WPFruits.com