Chelsea Green Publishing

Chelsea Green Blog

Pre-Release Special: Save 25% on Paradise Lot

Eric Toensmeier is well known in permaculture circles for his book Perennial Vegetables, and the encyclopedic, two-volume set Edible Forest Gardens he coauthored with Dave Jacke. Toensmeier’s new book, Paradise Lot, tells the story behind the tiny, barren lot that he and his friend Jonathan Bates transformed into a lush, perennial garden.

As Toensmeier wonders in the book’s introduction, the road ahead of the two young men seemed hopeful,

“Could we bring about an edible paradise on our blighted lot? Could we regenerate soil, bring back birds, and meet all of our goals on only a tenth of an acre without cramming everything in too tight? And might we ever meet women who could appreciate guys who spent more time on the Plants for a Future online database than singles websites? Time would tell.”

Publishers Weekly‘s recent review of Paradise Lot says, “In true permaculture fashion, the book follows not only the progression of the garden but also its influence on and relations with its creators’ lives—including a surprisingly Austen-like romantic element—their neighborhood, and the larger permaculture and forest gardening community…Fans of Toensmeier and Bates’s work will be thrilled to read the details of their experiments with polycultures, their problems with and solutions for pests and overly aggressive plants, and their idiosyncratic plant choices. Adventurous readers with conventional gardens and lawns may be inspired to venture into the more integrated, evolutionary approach that this book so vividly and appealingly portrays.”

Paradise Lot is on sale for 25% off this week.

For an even better glimpse of Eric Toensmeier’s perennial garden, check out our new DVD, Perennial Vegetable Gardening. Watch the trailer below:


Happy Holidays from Chelsea Green Publishing!

Today we kick off our Holiday Sale — with 35% off every purchase at our online bookstore. Simply use the code CGS16 at checkout from now until the end of the year. Along with this great discount, we are offering free shipping on any order over $100*. Are there homesteaders or organic gardeners on your […] Read More

Author Thomas Cowan: The Heart is Not a Pump

For centuries, we’ve been told that the heart is a pump. Guess what? We were misinformed, and it may have had deadly consequences. In his new book Human Heart, Cosmic Heart, Dr. Thomas Cowan offers up a daring claim: that the heart is not a pump, and our understanding of heart disease—with its origins in […] Read More

In Memory: Poet David Budbill

“One village of the many—call it Judevine.” The Chelsea Green family was saddened to hear of the death of Vermont poet, author, and friend David Budbill. He died early Sunday morning, September 25, 2016 at his home in Montpelier. He had been diagnosed with Parkinson’s Disease a year ago, and was in steady decline. In […] Read More

Born on Third Base: A Q&A with Author and Inequality Activist Chuck Collins

As inequality grabs headlines, steals the show in presidential debates, and drives deep divides between the haves and have nots in America, class war brews. Does it have to be this way? Can we suspend both class wars long enough to consider a new way forward? Is it really good for anyone that most of […] Read More

Gene Logsdon: Contrary Farmer & Rural Philosopher (1931-2016)

One of Chelsea Green’s most prolific writers, thinkers, and all-around curmudgeonly but lovable farmer — Gene Logsdon — died this week. We were heartbroken to hear the news, and many of us who have worked with Gene over the years  began to think of all the ways in which we were the better for not […] Read More
Follow us
Get every new post delivered to your inbox
Join millions of other followers
Powered By WPFruits.com